Bob Goldin Memorial Scholarship

2016 Bob Goldin Memorial Scholarship Award Winners

In 2004, the California Chapter of the American Planning Association, Orange Section (OC-APA) and the Planning Directors Association of Orange County (PDAOC) established the Bob Goldin Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship was named in memory of Bob Goldin, a local planner who made significant contributions to the planning profession, and whose life was unexpectedly cut short in a car accident.  For more information on “Who was Bob Goldin?,” click HERE.

To date, $28,000 in student scholarships have been awarded to local students pursuing careers in urban planning. Scholarship winners are selected for their outstanding academic performance, community involvement, and exceptional promise in serving the planning profession in Orange County.  Several $500 and $1,000 scholarships are awarded each year, and applications become available in spring.

These scholarships are primarily funded by the annual golf tournament co-sponsored by OC-APA, PDAOC, and ICC Orange Empire Chapter, as well as the silent auction fundraiser held at the Annual Awards Ceremony.


Last year, OC-APA and PDAOC awarded $7,000 in student scholarships! Winners were recognized at the APA Awards Ceremony held on May 25, 2016 in Downtown San Juan Capistrano.

Outstanding Student Awards – $1000
Pamela Guerra, UC Irvine
Cayla McDonell, UC Irvine
Yuritzy Randle, UC Irvine
David Fenn, UCLA

Merit Awards – $500
Brenna Callero, UC Irvine
Nancy Lo, UC Irvine
Patricia Malagon, UC Irvine
Mark Newman, UC Irvine
Ariel Pepper, UC Irvine
Noemi Wyss, UC Irvine